HyperLoc

HyperLoc est un outil de géolocalisation hyperbolique passive. Il est destiné à la localisation d'émetteurs (légaux, pirates, interférences) relayé par les transpondeurs des satellites de télécommunications. Les domaines d'applications concernent essentiellement :

  • les opérateurs de satellites de télécommunications afin de localiser les pirates et les émissions interférentes,
  • les agences de renseignements afin de déterminer les positions d'émetteurs légaux.

Cette méthode totalement passive a pour prérequis :

  • qu'il existe un satellite secondaire, proche du satellite subissant l'interférence (satellite principal) et de plan de fréquence compatible,
  • que le site de déployement de l'intercepteur soit dans les couvertures descendantes des satellites principaux et secondaire.

La méthode repose sur le fait qu'il est possible de remonter à la position de l'émetteur à la surface de la terre, en observant les différences de temps et de fréquence d'arrivée (TDOA & FDOA), entre le signal (principal) et sa réplique véhiculée par le satellite secondaire.

Datasheet

HyperLoc est capable de localiser tous les types de porteuses même si les orbites des satellites principal et miroir sont inconnues: notre algorythme multi-références est utilisé. Cet algorythme exploite des orbites publiques (NORAD) pour produire des précisions de positions autour de 15 km.



L'interface utilisateur d'HyperLoc reprend celle d'HyperMon. La complexité des traitement est le plus possible cachée à l'opérateur. HyperLoc est connecté à 3 bases de données : les émetteurs & références, les satellites, les jeux de paramètres d'orbitographie. Des outils de cartographie propriétaires sont fournis ainsi qu'une interface à Google Earth pour les utilisateurs qui peuvent travailler "on-line".

Enfin, des traitements avancés obtenus par le couplage avec HyperMon, font d'HyperLoc une solution de géolocalisation des plus performantes.

HyperLoc

HyperLoc is a software solution for passive hyperbolic geolocation. It's aim is to find the location of transmitters (legal, illegal or interferences) whose signals are relayed by communication satellite transponders. The targeted customers are mainly:

  • communication satellite operators, who need to reduce system interference and locate illegal users,
  • intelligence agencies, to locate legal transmitters.

This totally passive method has the following prerequisites:

  • a secondary satellite must exist, close to the interfered satellite (main satellite) with a tranponder frequency plan which is compatible,
  • the location of the interceptor is included in the downlink coverage of both the main and the secondary satellites.

The method relies on the fact that it is possible to estimate the position of the transmitter on the surface of the earth by observing the differences in arrival time and arrival frequency (TDOA & FDOA) between the main signal and the copy that is relayed by the secondary satellite.

Datasheet

HyperLoc is able to locate all kind of carriers types even if the orbits of both main and mirror satellites are not known: our multi-references algorithm is used which needs only public (NORAD) orbits and provides a geolocation accuracy around 15 km.

The figure below shows the result (see the multi-reference case study in more details) of geolocated target using:

  • standard geolocation using public orbits
  • standard geolocation using operator provided orbits
  • multi-references geolocation using public orbits
  • multi-references geolocation using operator provided orbits

The geolocation accuracy could be up to 1 km !



The HyperLoc user interface is based on the one developped for HyperMon. The complexity of the process is hidden to simplify the task of the operator. HyperLoc is connected to 3 data bases: the transmitters & references, the satellites and the orbital parameter sets. It comes with its own mapping tool and also includes an interface to Google Earth for the users working "on-line".

It is important to underline the advanced processings and capabilities obtained by the possible coupling with HyperMon, which makes HyperLoc a powerful and competitive geolocation solution.